What’s In A Name?

The title for my blog, “Something Significant Yet To Do,” pretty much sums up where I am now, and have been for most of my life. I have this yearning, striving, unrelenting drive, to create something of value that will outlive me. Why? I’d like to think it’s because I’ve benefitted from the generosity and creativity of those who have gone before me and want to do the same for others. That would be wonderful, but If I’m fully honest with myself, I’m certain that at least part of it, perhaps the greater part, is a desire to be liked and admired for what I have to share with others. I’ve done many things in life toward that end: directing plays, consulting, public speaking, and creating memorable events. More recently, my efforts have returned to writing. My co-authored text, “Fire Behind Bars,” about deadly fires in prisons and jails, was the first book of its kind in the early 80s and I spent a couple of years flying around the country giving workshops and seminars. I liked that a lot. But while that door was open to me for a long time, I didn’t walk through it. I took a different direction for my life instead. Fortunately, in my experience, while a specific opportunity may knock but once, life is full of them, and I believe if you miss one, it’s important to keep vigilant for others. They are all around us, if only we are open to them and willing to do the work necessary to see them through. In my own case, more than 40 years later, I am back to writing again, but more on that later. I’d also like to say a bit about my sub-title, “On striving to live life large.” Henry David Thoreau cautioned that most people lead lives of “quiet desperation” and go to the grave with their song still in them. He also admonished that not only must we be good, but we must also be good for something. That captures my feelings about my own quest and the one that I hope we hold in common. And perhaps that’s a good place to stop this first entry and get back to the other significant things I have yet to do. That is, other than to say that I welcome your thoughts on my thoughts. I believe and hope in the marvelous synergy that exists when active, searching minds come together and share. So what is your “Something significant yet to do?” I look forward to hearing from you.

Chuck Miceli

Leave a Reply

