Second poem in two days. It’s a start.

The prompt for the National Poetry Writing Month today asked for a poem that is a lie. Here’s my variation on the theme. 

The Lie

 

 I saw you yesterday

Watching from the window

I wondered what you wondered

As you gazed so intently at the water

 

I waited for you last night

Waited for you to leave your world and enter mine

Wondered if you wondered about me

As you dreamed

 

I thought about you this morning

Thought about the way you looked

The scent of your hair, the touch of your skin

As you awoke

 

I worried about you today

Worried about what you were thinking

The fire in your eyes, not squelched by the tears

As you came upon us

 

Chuck Miceli

April 2, 2013

Leave a Reply

