Up and Coming – April 2014

BLOG HOP

 I have been invited to participate in a Blog Hop. This will be a first for me. Here are the details:

  • My post will go live on Monday Apr 14. I’ll give a short bio of Cindy Eastman, the person who invited me to participate, at the top of my blog. Below that I will answer the following 4 questions:

1) What am I working on?

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

3) Why do I write what I do?

4) How does my writing process work?

  • Below that I will post 3 bios/blogs of those I have invited to participate.
  • I will post my answers:

 CREATIVE SUSTENANCE

  • Tuesday, April 22, 7 pm. I have been invited to do a reading of my latest short story, Leftovers, as part of UCONN Waterbury’s Creative Sustenance program. This program is free and open to the public at the UCONN Waterbury Campus, 99 East Main Street, Waterbury, CT 06702,Tel (203) 236-9800 in the Multi-purpose room on the first floor.
  • You are asked to bring a canned good to donate to the Interfaith Ministries of Waterbury.

 NEW BRITAIN MUSEUM OF ART

  • Saturday, April 26, 10 am – 3 pm. I will be joining other Connecticut authors doing book signings at the Museum and participating in a series of presentations on writing. At 2 pm, I will be presenting on The Art of Mystery Writing illustrating techniques from “Amanda’ Room.”
  • Friends Steve and Sherri Amato asked for a copy of the flyer to post in their store window, Amato’s Toy and Hobby at 283 Main Street in New Britain. It’s a great place to find model trains, crafts, hobbies, and much more.
  • A copy of the presentations flyer is attached. Please feel free to copy and post it or pass it along to others.

MARK TWAIN HOUSE

  • April 27, 10 am – 3 pm. I am proudly joining other Connecticut authors doing book signings at the home of one of the country’s most influential and beloved authors. This is also being held in conjunction with The Mark Twain House 3rd Annual Writer’s Weekend. (If I were not involved in the book signing event and on the day before at the NBMA, I would have attended this conference myself).
  • Additional information on the conference and book signings is at: http://www.marktwainhouse.org/visitor/events_programs.php
  • Special thanks to June Hyjek for her amazing work in organizing and promoting these events (You can also here her presentation on her wonderful true-life book, Unexpected Grace, at the New Britain Museum of Art on April 26.)

 THE CONNECTICUT LIBRARY CONFERENCE

  • April 28-29. I will be attending the conference at the Crown Plaza in Cromwell CT. This is a great venue to explore ways in which librarians and writing professionals can work together to raise the quality, visibility, and professionalism of independent authors and publishers.

HITCHCOCK LAKE READER’S CLUB

  • April 30. I’ll be meeting with a group of folks who have recently finished reading Amanda’s Room to discuss the “story behind the story.” I’ll share how I chose the settings and characters, which parts of the story are fact vs. fiction, and the relationship of the weather quotes to the narrative. More importantly, I’ll share the things many readers miss: the symbolism in the book, the underlying themes, and the relationship of time and incidents.
  • I was thrilled to learn that many of the Southington High School students who are reading Amanda’s Room have commented that they are loving it and “can’t put it down.” I’ve extended the same invitation for a post-read book discussion to them.
  • If you have a group of friends who have read Amanda’s Room and would like to meet to discuss the book, contact me. I love meeting with reader’s groups.

AMANDA’S ROOM AUDIO-BOOK IS READY FOR RELEASE. ORDERING DETAILS COMING SOON

  • The final review by ACX staff is done and the audio book for Amanda’s Room is ready to go live.
  • I will follow-up very soon with information on how you can download a copy for free.

AMANDA’S ROOM E-BOOK NOW AVAILABLE WORLD-WIDE FOR EVERY E-READER

  • I have just published the third edition of Amanda’s Room on Smashwords. This has been a long and sometimes frustrating project. I finally gave in and sought outside professional help to complete the formatting requirements. My sincere thanks to the very talented team at Ebooklaunch.com for their very prompt and reasonably priced service.
  • Since Amanda’s Room was approved for Smashwords’ expanded distribution, it is now available world-wide in formats to accommodate every e-reader made. So even if you have a Sony or Kobo reader, or live in France, Germany or England, you can download a copy of Amanda’s Room from Smashwords.com.

 WORKING WITH OTHER AUTHORS

  • Peter Sparr – Peter Sparr is an artist who has spent decades painting large-scale prints of early British steamships along with biographical notes on each one. Some of his prints, which include the Titanic and a steamship of his own design named the Atlantis, measure up to four foot high by eight feet long. Peter has been in over 40 one-artist shows and has been the subject of numerous articles, but his dream has been to see his major prints displayed in a coffee-table style book. It took quite a while to decide how best to proceed but we have now initiated this project.
  •  Joan LaRose – I have know Joan for many years as a fellow church member and friend. She has advanced Parkinson’s Disease and now resides at Southington Care Center. She is also a gifted poet. I am frequently amazed at the beauty and insightfulness of her words. We have been working for the past couple months to compile, edit, and organize her work and are now in the process of putting it into her own book of poems entitled, “Journey: Poems of Love, Laughter, and Nature Along Life’s Pathway.”

 FUTURE EVENTS

  •  CAPA-U – Saturday, May 10 – I will be joining with more than a hundred other authors, publishers and agents at this annual day-long writing and publishing conference with many tracks in every specialt
    • If you are an aspiring writer and are interested in learning more about CAPA, its services, and the annual CAPA-U Conference, check out their website: Aboutcapa.com, for more information.
  • NEWTOWN ARTS FESTIVAL – September 13-14 – Newtown CT. More info. to come. 

 ADDITIONAL OUTLETS FOR AMANDA’S ROOM

 Amanda’s Room is now also available for loan from the F. N. Manross Memorial Library in Forestville, CT.

 

Warmest Regards,

Chuck Miceli

Leave a Reply

